Peabody Chamber unveils INCredible business nominees

PEABODY — The Peabody Area Chamber of Commerce on Monday unveiled the nominees for its annual INCredible Business Awards ceremony, a “celebration of incredible businesses and individuals who have made significant contributions to our vibrant community.”

Businesses and individuals were recognized across a number of categories, including Non Profit of the Year, Business of the Year and Young Professional of the Year. The event serves as an opportunity to recognize the nominees’ exceptional work, dedication and positive impact on the local economy.

“The Peabody Area Chamber of Commerce has always been committed to promoting and supporting the growth and prosperity of our local communities,” said Chairman of the Board Dave Olson in a statement. “As an organization that understands the importance of fostering strong relationships between businesses and the community, we believe it is crucial to recognize those who go above and beyond in their pursuit of excellence.”

Nominees for this year’s awards represent a diverse range of industries, skills and dedication, and those that are making incredible contributions to the city and/or their business.

The Non Profit of the Year Award, sponsored by North Shore Bank, seeks to recognize a nonprofit serving the city that provides innovative services/programs that help improve the local community. The nominees for that award are Peabody TV and the Rotary Club of Peabody.

Cataldo Ambulance is the sponsor of the Family Business of the Year award, which recognizes the accomplishments and impact of a chamber member business that is family-owned. InclYOUsion Sports and Olio are the two nominees for that award.

Peabody Police Chief Thomas Griffin and Tod Labrie of Cataldo Ambulance are the nominees for the First Responder of the Year Award, sponsored by JJR Enterprise, Inc. The award recognizes a law enforcement officer, paramedic, emergency medical technician or firefighter that has made a difference beyond the role of their job description.

The nominees for the Champion of Diversity Award, which recognizes a business or nonprofit organization that has made an impactful commitment to embracing diversity in their workplace, diversity supplier partnerships and the community, are Breaking Grounds Café and Citizens Inn.

GraVoc and North Shore Bank are the nominees for Business of the Year, which the chamber said recognizes companies for their creativity and imagination in developing their business, a demonstration of growth and their reflection of internal and external social responsibility.

The Minority Business Enterprise Award seeks to recognize outstanding business achievements of minority-owned businesses that have established a successful business model or made significant contributions to the community. The nominees for that award are Garage Print Studio and Maki Sushi Restaurant & Bar.

The Young Professional of the Year is given to an individual under the age of 40 who has made significant contributions to his/her company or community. The nominees for that award are Kristine Casciato of GraVoc, Cindy Castro of Granite Girls, Marc Duffy of Duffy Insurance and Andrea Rhodes of Citizens Inn.

The Community Champion award recognizes an individual that makes a difference in the community through volunteering or leading an initiative outside the usual work of their job. The nominees are Emily Cooper for her work at Newhall Fields Community Farm, Jessica Kaloutas for her work at Mrs. Claus Project and Gina Goodwin for her work with Gina’s Giving Back.

Chamber President Deanne Healey said the chamber is bringing back two long-standing community service awards —  the Mary Upton Ferrin and Harry Ankeles awards — for this year’s event, explaining the committee “felt it appropriate to re-instate them as part of this ceremony.”

The nominees for the awards, which are given to a female and male business professional, respectively, who have contributed to the civic well-being of the community outside of their job, are Rochelle Agent, Cheryl Millard, Al Matos and Dan Vassallo.

“Each honoree has not only achieved remarkable success but has also demonstrated a genuine dedication to making an incredible difference in their business or their community,” Healey said. “Through their hard work and innovation, they have inspired others and set new standards of excellence.

The winners will be announced at the chamber’s INCredible Business Award Celebration event on June 7 at Olio from 6 – 8 p.m. The evening will feature an Academy Awards-style event, beginning with a cocktail reception and grazing table, as well as an opportunity for networking and collaboration with honorees and community leaders, followed by the announcement of winners in each award category.

“It will be a momentous occasion to recognize the achievements of these outstanding businesses and individuals,” the statement said. “All members of the community, local business leaders and media representatives are invited to join us in applauding these exceptional honorees. Their remarkable work serves as a testament to the collaborative spirit and entrepreneurial drive that makes a community thrive.”

For more information or to secure attendance visit the chamber’s website.

More Stories From Peabody